About the College

The Government of Tamil Nadu established the Periyar University at Salem on 17th September 1997 as per the provisions of the Periyar University Act, 1997. The University got the 12(B) and 2f status from the University Grants Commission and has been reaccredited by NAAC with ‘A’ grade in 2015. The University has established the following Constituent College Periyar University Arts and Science College (PRUCAS) in 2006 at Mettur Dam, Salem District

First Constituent College in Periyar University is Periyar University Constituent College of Arts and Science, (Co-Education) Mettur. The college was established in 03-11-2006. The college imparts knowledge, assists in developing the skills and encourages the rural students towards enlightenment. The college offers courses leading to B.A.Tamil, B.A.English, B.A.Economics, B.Com, B.Sc. Computer Science, B.Sc. Geology and B.Sc. Mathematics; PG in Commerce and M.Phil. in Commerce.

As per the G.O.No36, Dated 28-02-2019 Government of Tamilnadu was announced the 14 University Constituent Colleges were converted into Government Arts and Science Colleges from the academic year 2019-2020 onwards. Out of the 14 colleges this college was converted as Government Arts and Science College, Mettur.